League of Historical and Accessible Cities (LHAC)

Previous Next

Created in 2010, the League of Historical and Accessible Cities (LHAC) is a pilot project centralised on the accessibility of historic city centres, promoting the development of sustainable tourism and the protection of cultural heritage.

The principal objectives of the project are: propose innovative accessible solutions that permit people with disabilities to fully enjoy cultural and historical points of interest; encourage tourism and social development of the city; develop further pilot projects that could inspire other foundations, local authorities or stakeholders; act as a channel for the exchange of good practice and know-how; give a good example of sharing good practice and stimulating ideas.

The project has been simultaneously implemented by 11 foundations in 5 European countries, each in partnership with local authorities and organisations from the 6 historical cities involved.

 The partner cities and foundations of the project:

  •  Avila (Spain)
    Fundación ONCE 
  • Lucca (Italy)
    Fondazione Banca del Monte di Lucca
  • Mulhouse (France)
    Fondation Réunica, Fondation de France, Centre Français des Fonds et Fondations
  • Sozopol (Bulgaria)
    Sozopol Foundation
  • Torino (Italy)
    Fondazione CRT
  • Viborg (Denmark)
    Realdania, Bevica Foundation, the Labour Market Holiday Fund, Danish Disability Foundation

Participation in the League of Historical and Accessible Cities has allowed us to create the project Torino Tour 4 All,  a new free touristic-cultural App suitable for people with physical, visual and hearing difficulties, and it has also permitted the participation in the European project STRING - Smart Tourist Routes for Inclusive Groups.